On the hunt for game idea #3

Yesterday was in many regards a great day for me. It started very early but by the evening I had solved all of the issues at hand (some of them were plaguing me for years now). It was really really a remarkable day for me. I even think I should write it’s date down ;) On top of all, I met with my friends for dinner which meant that the finish was also perfect. When I went to bed I was completely happy and I slept like a baby.

Waking up this morning and happy with the release that came after yesterday, I realized that another weekend had come and that I had to do something about game idea #3. As I was looking for some inspiration I remembered some of the nice moments in the bookstores I had been yesterday. I visited the Yapı Kredi Bookstore in Alsancak and they had a great collection of books on arts and crafts. Especially two of the books I saw there were beautiful: One of them was on the Art of the Urartu Kingdom, the other one was on Kilims.

I have been to many museums and one of the best I have ever seen was the Museum of Anatolian Civilizations located in Ankara. This museum is very rich and exhibits amazing artefacts. However, my favorite section of this museum has always been the Urartu section. It’s difficult to explain, you must go and see it. You will see beautifully crafted iron artefacts, writings in cuneiform and lovely vase paintings and drawings. Both the style and the mythology behind the art is fascinating me. Especially the depiction of war scenes and religious rituals.

The thing is that I do not have a concrete game idea about it. All I know is that I want to use this art as a basis to play with something. I have a strange vision in which the ornaments that depict war scenes and religious rituals float through the air like chinese dragons or serpent-like flyers. They mix into each other, transform, synthesize,  constantly change their skins and create a layered stream of endlessly flowing patterns as we manipulate their flow and floating. Like the cubist painting of a kaleidoscope. It will sound strange to describe it this way, but in my vision they look like the a big continuos transition between hundreds and thousands of techno music tracks. None of the songs is able to establish itself: what rules is the transition itself. As we if see thousands of flowers continuosly blossoming. We are like the DJ’s of a visual Urartu art track and are carried away by the flow of transcending ornaments.

On the other hand I prefer Kilims over carpets (excepts the carpets of the Kars region with their large geometrical designs) because I find they feel more like “earth” (they’re rougher, simpler, often look outworn, they’re modest, functional, but still so beautiful). Beautiful colors meet with exciting graphic patterns. They make me think of tee, tobacco and stonehouses. Not sure how to do it yet, but I’d love to make a game built around a tile laying mechanism with kilim motifs being used as the tiles. It could be for example a struggle over the colors that will dominate the final layout of the kilim design.  What I imagine is that at the end of the game even the loser wins: She will see a beautiful Kilim design. I simply want players use their mobile phones or cameras to take pictures of the gameboard that they created during the game.

Leave a Reply

