Game Narrativity continued

I’m right now in a very fruitful process of writing and diagramming my thoughts on Game Narrativity. I don’t really know where it will carry me to, but I just feel somehow that something “programmed” in me knows the way. Whatever that thing is, it feels right and I feel I need to follow it.

 One of the diagrams I prepared this evening. Click to enlarge!

A diagram based on the completion levels concept in Barthes' structural analyses of narratives.

A diagram based on the concept of Completion Levels in Barthes' study on narrative.

There is a collection of little “theoretical tokens” and at some point I need to join them all together into a single framework. I don’t know yet when that moment will come…

Another theoretical token:

The three roles a game designer will have to construct while designing a game

The three roles a game designer will have to construct for the player of her game.

 And another one:

A classification system that enables the player to perform on all narrative levels

The Interface, a classification system that enables the player to perform on all narrative levels.

Oh my, I really need some feedback on all this!

Leave a Reply

