Game Idea #15

I know, I know, it’s too early to post a game idea, but my schedule is very busy so I’ll do anything to gain time ;) Posting this game idea will save me until the start of November. I’ll be back at that time with game idea #16.

The idea that I feature today came in my mind during Guita’s industrial product design class. One of the problems that students had to come up with a solution for was the design of a chocolate product.

The idea with which I was playing so far was to create a chocolate brand based on Luis Bunuel’s concept “image choc”, originally being a french word which means “shocking image” and belongs to the theory of surrealist cinema. I wanted to go for a wordplay and use “choc” in its english sense, meanwhile maintaining the connection to cinema. Maybe it would have been possible to use wrapped chocolate pieces as mosaic tesellations for reproductions of film posters or unforgettable moments in film history. Anyway, the fact was that I didn’t really give it a thought beyond that.

However, today I saw a student coming up with a chess game idea in which both, the board and the tokens were made of bitter and white chocolate. If your opponent loses a piece during play, you would have the right to eat that piece. This made me think of other games in the form of chocolate. And suddenly there was the magic word: Chocemon! Somehow it sounded fun to me. So I decided to write the idea down. Well, here is…

Game Idea #15

Chocemon

Chocemon is a collectible card game (CCG) based on a monster theme in which the cards are made of chocolate and wrapped into colored aluminium foils. Players might play, trade and, if desired, eat their choco game cards (or those of their opponents!).

The Chocemons will come in three different choco “races”: Bitter, Cacao, White. Each race will feature dozens of unique Chocemons with different ingredients and flavor (and character skill sets!).

Chocemon’s unique battle system will ensure that gameplay is fun. And winning a battle will be more rewarding than ever: You will be able to devour the beaten monsters of your opponent.. Bon appetite!!

 And this time I also have a little poll for you. Enjoy! ;)

Leave a Reply

